DAILY AMUSE BOUCHE – THE FAILSAFE DIET

Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 8.21.11 AMEveryday, I read articles and listen to radio shows to help keep my food knowledge sharp so I can share it with others. I am often encouraging people to follow the advice of esteemed author Michael Pollan, “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.” Well, guess what? I just learned that I had to radically change my diet to help with my sensitivity to salicylates, and now, most plants are a no-go, and mostly organic protein and butter are a yes-go, for me.

Salicylate sensitivities can develop for various reasons, but women whose hormones are changing, can be very susceptible to this sensitivity.

I’m now on what is called the, FAILSAFE Diet. This link explains the diet and its raison d’etre, but there are many nuances so I highly recommend you speak with a healthcare practitioner of your choice, to learn more about what is right for you. In my case, I am following the diet without any carbs at the moment, and definitely no legumes, because of the lectins.

In four days, I am already feeling like a new person. I am sleeping better. I do not feel bloated, and am feeling clearer and sharper in my thinking. So many foods can cause a sort of brain-fog, namely wheat. I wasn’t aware I had brain-fog as badly as I did, until I started following the FAILSAFE Diet.

If you have symptoms such as mine (bloatedness, joint stiffness, brain-fog, etc.) you may be interested to read more about the FAILSAFE Diet in the link I shared above, and by running a search or two. As a whole and natural foods chef, I would never have considered this diet (i.e. mostly devoid of plants), but in doing so, it has made a huge improvement to my health and well-being.

Sharon, THE ECO CHEF

Leave a Reply

